January 22, 2012, “Hexuberance”

Hexaphone, Victoria’s six-member a capella vocal ensemble was formed in 2002 with the goal of performing diverse styles of vocal music, one voice to a part. Hexaphone is Carolyn Howe (soprano), Arlene Overman (alto), John Doughty (tenor), Michael Zastre (tenor), Nicholas Fairbank (baritone), and Paul Boughen (bass). Called “Canada’s only professional vocal sextet” (Colin Miles, Canadian Music Centre), it has become a gem of Victoria’s music scene, singing an eclectic range of music with a particular focus on new Canadian works. Hexaphone is regularly invited to perform at arts events, including the Victoria Symphony’s New Currents Festival, the Voice++ Festival, and the New Music In New Places concert series sponsored by the Canadian Music Centre. In 2008, Hexaphone was chosen to premiere BC 150 Project: Five Songs for British Columbia, commissioned by the Canadian Music Centre to celebrate BC’s 150th anniversary.

Hexaphone will excite and enthral you with its eclectic, vibrant programs of vocal music.  A gem of Victoria’s music scene, these six unaccompanied singers are able to bring jazz, folk, classical and new music to life with verve and panache.